Henderson County Public Library

Borrowing Policy

The borrowing policy on this page is a condensed version of the HCPL Circulation Policy.

Getting a Library Card

Library cards are free to any resident or property owner in Henderson County and are issued immediately to patrons with proper identification. Proper identification includes a photo ID showing your current mailing address. If your photo ID does not have a current mailing address, you may use an official piece of mail (utility bill, phone bill, property tax bill, etc.) showing proof of residency.

All persons wishing to apply for a library card must be at least 18 years of age and must be legally responsible for themselves. First time borrowers are limited to two items (total) per checkout for seven days

Juvenile Cards

Juveniles must be at least 3 years old to receive a library card and be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who has a current library card in good standing (no fines). The parent or legal guardian assumes all liability for the applicant.

Young Adult Cards

Young Adult Cards are available to patrons 16 and 17 years of age provided they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who has a current library card in good standing (no fines). The parent or legal guardian must give written consent for the young adult to check out DVDs, Blu-rays, and video games. The parent or legal guardian assumes all liability for the applicant.

Non-resident Cards

People who do not live or own property in Henderson County, Kentucky, may apply for a library card if they live or work within the library's service area. The library's service area includes western Kentucky, southern Indiana, and southern Illinois. These people may obtain a non-resident library card with full library privileges by supplying valid identification and paying a $25.00 annual fee. Cards expire one year from date of issuance.

Educator Cards

Educator library cards are issued to teachers and other educators working in Henderson County. Cards must be renewed every school year with proper documentation. These cards offer extended borrowing periods and are intended to be used to checkout materials for classroom instruction only. There is no charge for these cards. View the Library's Educator Card Policy.

Borrowing Materials

Materials, Loan Limits, Lending Period, & Fines

Patrons with valid library cards may checkout:

Material Quantity Lending Period Fine / Item / Day
Books 20 3 weeks
Magazines 12 3 weeks
Books on CD 7 3 weeks
Music CDs 7 3 weeks
DVDs/Blu-rays 7 7 days
Video Games 3 7 days
Mobile Hotspot 1 7 days $5.00
Mobile Scanner 1 7 days
Book Kits 2 6 weeks
Interlibrary Loan 4 Set by lender Based on type

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service whereby a user of one library can borrow items that are owned by another library. The guidelines for ILL for HPCL are as follo

  • Patrons in good standing may request up to four (4) ILL items at a time free of charge.
  • Patrons under the age of 18 require a signed consent from a parent or legal guardian.
  • Overdue fines for ILL items are set by the lending library.
  • Patrons who fail to pick up ILL items that they have requested in a timely manner will lose ILL borrowing privileges for a period of six (6) months after the third time that ILL items are not picked up.


  • Reserves may be placed in person, by phone, or online.
  • We will notify you when reserved material is available by phone, text message, or email.
  • We will hold materials for three business days.


  • Most items may be renewed up to two times in person, by phone or online.
  • Items more than five (5) days overdue may not be renewed.
  • Items on reserve for another patron may not be renewed.
  • New release DVDs may not be renewed.

Lost and Damaged Items and Fines/Fees

  • Patrons are charged the retail price for lost items.
  • Fines will be assessed for damaged items based on the amount of damage (See the HCPL Fine/Fee Schedule).
  • When items are returned in less than 30 days, the maximum fines assessed will be either the cost of the item or the overdue fines, whichever is less.
  • If item(s) are not returned after 30 days or not at all, a patron will be charged the replacement cost only and the item(s) will be discarded.
  • Borrowing privileges may be temporarily suspended when items are lost, listed as one month overdue, fines have reached $5.00, and/or fines are older than three months (90 days).
  • The library is not responsible for personal equipment damaged by library materials.